select Language Deutsch English

That's Life 
The Sinatra Musical


One of the greatest entertainers comes back on stage! World premiere on Janurary 8, 2020 in Berlin

Frank Sinatra, one of the world‘s greatest entertainers, is unforgotten till today: With his songs like „My Way“, „Strangers In The Night“ or „New York, New York“ he gained international renown and he is regarded as one of the most influential personalities of pop music in the  20th century. His life was changing between Las Vegas and New York, performances on stages all over the world, passionate marriages with Nancy Barbato, Ava Gardner and Mia Farrow, mysterious relations to Mafia and policy.

„That’s Life – The Sinatra Musical“ by producer of success Oliver Forster (e.g. „Falco - The Musical“ and „BEAT IT! – The Musical on the King of Pop!“),  is presenting in impressing scenes Sinatra’s unique career, but also depicts the shady sides of his glamorous looking life. The Las Vegas Show presents „Frankie Boy‘s“ greatest hits and relegates the audience into the legendary time of Swing and Big Bands. At the occasion of Frank Sinatra’s 105th anniversary „That’s Life“ will have its world premiere in the Theater at the Potsdamer Platz in Berlin and be on big tour afterwards in Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the cities Berlin, Leipzig, Dresden, Munich, Vienna, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt on the Main, Bern and Basel.

More than 50 years in show business

In spring 1942 Sinatra started his solo career and this was the beginning of an unequaled success story, lasting for more than 50 years. Already after a few months the Americans were kissing his feet. He got the nickname „Frankie Boy“, and his fans raved enthusiastically about his voice which was said to be as American as their anthem. For this reason he was also called „The Voice“. Sinatra left his distinctive mark on many American classic songs: Every song he interpreted became an evergreen, such as the hymn to the Big Apple „New York, New York“, „Strangers In The Night“, „White Christmas“, „Moon River“, „Love And Marriage“ and the legendary „My Way“.

The Sinatra way of life

At the beginning of the 50s he had to struggle for the first time with health and private problems that overshadowed his career: In 1951 Sinatra got divorced from his first wife to marry actress and diva Ava Gardner. In the following year he developed a severe disease of his vocal cords and for the time being his production of records was put on hold. To make matters worse, he was fired by his agency MCA. But Sinatra never gave up and fought: In 1953 he introduced himself at Columbia Pictures and was successful in convincing Fred Zinnemann to give him the role of GI Angelo Maggio in his film „From Here To Eternity“. Sinatra’s way payed off: He gained an Oscar for the best supporting role.

The 60s: Las Vegas, big bands & "The Rat Pack"

The legendary Las Vegas Performances of „The Rat Pack“ are unforgotten: Together with Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Joey Bishop, Peter Lawford and Shirley MacLaine Sinatra played in the famous „Sands Hotel“. These shows were the most demanded of this time: With their outstanding mixture of comedic dialogues between entertainers and audience and presentation of world-famous songs, accompanied by perfect Big Band Swing, they made American entertainment history.

After his divorce of Ava Gardner in 1957, the scandalous marriage with Mia Farrow followed in 1966. At that time Sinatra was 50 years old and Farrow innocent 20 years. The marriage lasted only for two years but the friendship with Mia persisted. In 1976 Sinatra finally sailed into the haven of matrimony with Barbara Marx. In 1969 Paul Anka revised the hit „My Way“, an original of Claude François and Jaques Revaux, which should become Sinatra’s identifying feature.

A man of superlatives

Frank Sinatra was a man to whom all possible superlatives of popular music could be applied. In the course of his career he succeeded in keeping his distinctive style and stay always on top of commercial success despite of opposing trends. He became one of the most important characters in the American and international music business. With more than 1.800 records, 60 film parts, nine Grammys and one Oscar he exceeded all records in entertainment industry to date.

Duprey3_(c)COFO_Entertainment
Duprey1_(c)COFO_Entertainment

select Language Deutsch English

That's Life
Das Sinatra-Musical

 

Einer der größten Entertainer kehrt zurück auf die Bühne! Weltpremiere am 08. Januar 2020 in Berlin

Frank Sinatra, einer der größten Entertainer der Welt, ist bis heute unvergessen: Seine Songs wie „My Way“, „Strangers In The Night“ oder „New York, New York“ bescherten ihm Weltruhm und er gilt als eine der einflussreichsten Persönlichkeiten der Popmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts. Glamourös war sein Leben zwischen Las Vegas und New York, auf den Bühnen der ganzen Welt, leidenschaftlich seine Ehen mit Nancy Barbato, Ava Gardner oder Mia Farrow, geheimnisvoll seine Beziehungen zur Mafia und zur Politik.

„That’s Life – Das Sinatra-Musical“ von Erfolgsproduzent Oliver Forster (u.a. „Falco - Das Musical“ und „BEAT IT! – Das Musical über den King of Pop!“) zeigt in beeindruckenden Bildern Sinatras unvergleichliche Karriere, thematisiert aber auch die Schattenseiten seines mondän scheinenden Lebens. Die Las Vegas-Show präsentiert „Frankie Boy‘s“ größte Hits und versetzt die Zuschauer zurück in die legendäre Zeit des Swing mit seinen Big Bands. Zum 105. Geburtstag von Frank Sinatra feiert „That’s Life“  Welturaufführung im Theater am Potsdamer Platz in Berlin und geht anschließend auf große Tournee in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz darunter Berlin, Leipzig, Dresden, München, Wien, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt am Main, Bern und Basel.

Über 50 Jahre im Showgeschäft

Im Frühjahr 1942 nahm Sinatra seine Solokarriere in Angriff und hier begann seine über 50 Jahre andauernde, beispiellose Karriere. Schon nach wenigen Monaten lagen ihm die Amerikaner zu Füßen. Er erhielt den Spitznamen „Frankie Boy“ und seine Fans schwärmten, seine Stimme sei so amerikanisch wie ihre Hymne, weshalb er den Beinamen „The Voice“ erhielt. Sinatra drückte einigen amerikanischen Klassikern seinen unverkennbaren Stempel auf: Jeder Song, den er interpretierte, wurde zum Evergreen. Darunter finden sich die Hymne an den Big Apple „New York, New York“, „Strangers In The Night“, „White Christmas“, „Moon River“, „Love And Marriage“ und das legendäre „My Way“.

Der Sinatra-Way

Anfang der 50er Jahre überschatteten gesundheitliche und private Probleme erstmals seine Laufbahn: 1951 ließ sich Sinatra von seiner ersten Frau scheiden, um die Filmdiva Ava Gardner zu heiraten. Im Folgejahr erkrankte er schwer an den Stimmbändern und seine Plattenproduktionen lagen zunächst auf Eis. Zu allem Überfluss feuerte ihn seine Agentur MCA. Aber Sinatra gab nie auf und kämpfte: 1953 ging er bei Columbia Pictures hausieren und erreichte, dass Fred Zinnemann ihn für seinen Film „Verdammt in alle Ewigkeit“ in der Rolle des GI Angelo Maggio anheuerte. Der Sinatra-Way zahlte sich aus: Oscar für die beste Nebenrolle.

Die 60er: Las Vegas, Big Bands & „The Rat Pack“

Unvergessen sind die legendären Las Vegas-Performances von „The Rat Pack“: Zusammen mit Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Joey Bishop, Peter Lawford und Shirley MacLaine trat Sinatra im berühmten „Sands Hotel“ auf. Diese Shows waren die begehrtesten ihrer Zeit: Mit ihrer perfekten Mischung aus kabarettistischen Dialogen zwischen Entertainern und Publikum sowie Darbietungen von weltbekannten Songs, begleitet von perfektem Big-Band-Swing, gingen sie in die amerikanische Entertainment-Geschichte ein.
Nach seiner Scheidung von Ava Gardner 1957, kam es 1966 zur skandalösen Heirat mit Mia Farrow. Sinatra war damals 50, Farrow unschuldige 20. Die Ehe hielt nur zwei Jahre, die Freundschaft mit Mia blieb aber bestehen. 1976 ankerte Sinatra dann endgültig im Hafen der Ehe mit Barbara Marx. 1969 schrieb Paul Anka den Hit „My Way“ neu, welcher im  Originalen von Claude François und Jaques Revaux stammt, der fortan Sinatras Markenzeichen werden sollte.

Ein Mann der Superlative

Frank Sinatra war ein Mann, auf den alle denkbaren Superlative der populären Musik Anwendung fanden. Im Laufe seiner Karriere gelang es ihm, einen unverkennbaren Stil zu bewahren und trotz gegenläufiger Trends immer an der Spitze des kommerziellen Erfolgs zu bleiben. So wurde er zu einem der wichtigsten Charaktere im amerikanischen und internationalen Musikgeschäft. Mit über 1.800 Songaufnahmen, 60 Filmrollen, neun Grammys und einem Oscar sprengte er bis dato alle Rekorde der Unterhaltungsbranche.


X

Fenster schließen